Girls’ Circles

Les Cercles de filles sont axés sur la libération collective des filles de la Sierra Leone, au travers d’un programme qui les accompagne sur un parcours où elles exercent leur pouvoir, accèdent à des espaces de solidarité et revendiquent leurs droits à des ressources critiques.

circles-illus-3-800px
Karo Kura Girls Circles logo

Menée par Purposeful en partenariat avec des organisations locales, cette initiative soutient actuellement 15 000 filles et 700 mentors sur 6 districts. Girls’ Circles utilisent des espaces qui leur sont réservés, des campagnes radio et de plaidoyer collectif menées par les filles comme catalyseur d’un changement transformateur de la vie des filles.

Les filles entament un parcours de développement d’outils pour analyser leur situation et leur vie, commencer à se demander pourquoi elles font face à des difficultés particulières, et imaginer pour elles une nouvelle réalité. En suivant ce programme, elles se forgent un sens de la solidarité en entretenant des relations avec d’autres filles. Elles connaissent leurs droits, les lois et les institutions qui existent pour protéger et faire appliquer ces droits. Elles ont foi en elles et en leur aptitude à agir ensemble pour engendrer le changement. Elles s’expriment individuellement et collectivement.

Ce processus se déroule au sein d’espaces réservés aux filles, organisés par de jeunes femmes mentors. C’est un programme supérieur étayé par des recherches et conçu spécifiquement pour les filles marginalisées de la Sierra Leone.

Hosted by Purposeful and convened by the African Federation for Sexual Health and Rights.

The 10th Africa Conference on Sexual Health and Rights

FREETOWN, SIERRA LEONE

27 June–1 July 2022

Girls Circles

Girls Circles centre on the collective liberation of girls in Sierra Leone through a programme that accompanies girls on their journey to exercise their power, access spaces of solidarity and claim their rights to critical assets.

circles-illus-3-800px
Karo Kura Girls Circles logo

Currently supporting 15,000 girls and 700 mentors across 6 districts, the initiative is held by Purposeful in partnership with locally rooted organisations. Girls Circles use girl-only spaces, radio and girl-led collective advocacy campaigns to catalyst transformational change in girls lives.

The girls embark on a journey to develop the tools to analyse the situation of their lives, start to ask why they face specific challenges, and imagine a new reality for themselves. As they go through the programme, they develop a sense of solidarity as they nurture relationships with other girls. They know their rights, the laws and institutions that exist to protect and uphold those rights. They believe in themselves and in their ability to act together to create change. They speak up for themselves, individually and collectively.

This process takes place within a girls only space, facilitated by young women mentors, underpinned by a research based, best-in-class curriculum designed specifically for marginalised girls in Sierra Leone.

Read our publication on the State of Out-of-School Girls in Sierra Leone

Read ‘Girls Take Action’ – Tales of sisterhood: How mentors are collectivising with girls in their communities in Sierra Leone

A Mentor’s Manifesto for Change

Hosted by Purposeful and convened by the African Federation for Sexual Health and Rights.

The 10th Africa Conference on Sexual Health and Rights

FREETOWN, SIERRA LEONE

27 June–1 July 2022